There are 13 species of woodpecker found in Montana, although three are accidental species (red bellied woodpecker, white headed woodpecker, and yellow bellied sapsucker) and won't be included here. Of the remaining ten, we have captured pictures of seven, shown below. Those still on our list are the American three toed woodpecker, the black backed woodpecker, and the red headed woodpecker. As always, assistance with any errors in identification are appreciated.
Northern flicker - Colaptes auratus
Pileated woodpecker - Dryocopus pileatus
Hairy woodpecker - Picoides villosus
Lewis's woodpecker - Melanerpes lewis

Downy Woodpecker - Picoides pubescens

White-headed Woodpecker - Picoides albolarvatus

Williamson's sapsucker - Sphyrapicus thyroideus

Back to Top