Falcons kill with their beaks whereas hawks and eagles (members of the Accipitridae family) kill with their long, sharp talons.  Falcons are found around the world and adults range in size from an ounce (the black-thighed falconet) to four pounds (the gyrfalcon).   Some, such as the Peregrine falcon, are widely distributed while others are endemic to a single island.  There are five species of falcon in Montana and we have pictures of four of them (all except the gyrfalcon).  

American kestrel - Falco sparverius

Prairie falcon - Falco mexicanus

Merlin - Falco columbarius

Peregrine falcon - Falco peregrinus

Back to Top