There are 16 nonaccidental species of finch in Montana, and we have pictures of 11 of them (68.8%).  The remaining species are the black rosy finch, common redpoll, gray-crowned rosy finch, hoary redpoll, and purple finch. 

American goldfinch - Spinus tristis

Cassin's finch - Haemorhous cassinii

Evening grosbeak - Coccothraustes vespertinus

Pine siskin - Spinus pinus

Red crossbill - Loxia curvirostra

White-winged crossbill - Loxia leucoptera

Pine grosbeak - Pinicola enucleator

House finch - Haemorhous mexicanus

Gray-crowned rosy-finch - Leucosticte tephrocotis

Gray-crowned rosy-finch (Hepburn's) - Leucosticte tephrocotis littoralis

Lesser goldfinch - Spinus psaltria

Back to Top